Best Buy - Iowa City

1431 Coral Ridge Avenue
Coralville, IA 52241
Phone: 319-625-2900
Email: tanya.beach@bestbuy.com

GEO: 41.692726, -91.602524

Map & Directions

See full store details

Weekly Ad


Store Hours

Today

  • ThuJul. 31
    10:00 am9:00 pm
  • FriAug. 01
    10:00 am9:00 pm
  • SatAug. 02
    10:00 am9:00 pm
  • SunAug. 03
    11:00 am8:00 pm
  • MonAug. 04
    10:00 am9:00 pm
  • TueAug. 05
    10:00 am9:00 pm
  • WedAug. 06
    10:00 am9:00 pm

Customer Feedback & Reviews for Best Buy - Iowa City

Average Customer Rating

4.1554 star rating 4.2 of 5

Customer Reviews: 457

88.4% of customers would recommend this store to a friend (404 of 457)

Write a Store Review

 

Posted July 31, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I do like that they can look up my My Best Buy rewards online while I'm checking out, and apply the reward amount. My pet peeve about EVERY OTHER rewards program is that I have to remember to print out and bring along a reward coupon or voucher. I REALLY appreciate that this is not the case at Best Buy!!

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 30, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 1 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I've bought every computer, laptop & accessories at Best Buy over the past 17 years. With the experience I had last night, I probably will never buy another computer at BB again and am upset enough that I'm considering returning my laptop and ordering it from another vendor online. The staff was rude and what was even worse was that the manager who came over to help because the staff was "too busy" was the rudest person of everyone that helped me. I was ignored for the first 15 minutes and then every question I asked seem to annoy the manager that was helping me. I feel that when someone is spending $2000 on a product (though it shouldn't matter how much or how little) they should receive pretty great service. We've recently purchased an entire home theater and sound system & appliances from Best Buy and spent over $22,000. I've also bought my past 3 laptops & home desktop at Best Buy and have always had a great experience. Last night's experience really makes me never want to return again.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 29, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Cashier was kind knowledgeable, technology created a 3 minute hiccup.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 28, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I have not used the reward program much. We intend on going back for appliances in the near future.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 25, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Thanks for having great associates that go out of the war to ensure customer satisfaction. Your team members make the difference. Greatly appreciated their assistance.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 24, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 2 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

The Webroot is a disc, but most laptops don't have CD players in them anymore. There was a code on the back under a sticker to use, but when you pull the sticker off the number comes off also. We had to return to the store to get the number. Rather inconvenient.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 24, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

There wasn't much of a variety of PlayStation Vita games or accessories. There were a few Nintendo 3DS games I wanted that were not in stock. Other than that, I had a nice shopping experience.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 23, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Continue what you are doing! Great customer service, a lot to choose from. It's nice to be able to see and hear the product, but I wish your prices were a little lower. The sound bar we purchased was on sale.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 22, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Best Buy is my place to go for electronics, gaming, music, computers, tv's, etc.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

Employees at this location "selectively" helpful 

Posted July 21, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 1 of 5
By Syracuse from Iowa City, IA

Store Atmosphere: 2

Employee Knowledge: 1

Price/Value 2

Checkout Process: 3

In general, I like Best Buy. I have spent a great deal of money at Best Buy over the years--iPhones (2), iPads (4), Macbook Air, Macbook Pro, Kindle, Kindle Fire, car stereos (2), and countless smaller items like DVDs, cases, and office supplies.Having said that, I am now fed-up with the highly selective friendliness the employees at this Iowa City/Coralville location. On 5 separate occasions, I have browsed the electronics and computer area at length (+15 minutes) and have not had one single employee come up to me and ask if I was finding everything all right, if they could be of assistance, etc. At first I thought that perhaps this was some type of new, hands-off store policy (I'm well aware that some folks are annoyed for the exact opposite reason of what I'm writing about here: the overly friendly employee who won't leave you alone). But recently I've noticed that the very same employees who ignore me as though I have the plague are busy asking other customers if they need any help with anything!To me, this smacks of discrimination. When I shop at Best Buy, I usually come alone and am dressed casually--I was not previously aware that I somehow needed to project a certain image in order to be considered worthy of the Best Buy employees' valuable time. However, this complete lack of even the most basic level of customer attentiveness has happened too many times now to be coincedental, and I most definitely do not appreciate it. Whether it is because of my attire or my perceived likelihood of making a purchase (or worse, my gender or my race), I find this selective customer service both offensive and unacceptable. If you are somehow incacpable of waiting on all the customers who walk through your doors on an equal basis, then my advice is to have that same policy of noninvolvement for all.As it stands right now, I am less likely to shop at Best Buy because of these experiences. I will try this store one more time in the next couple months to see if these comments are taken seriously, and if they are not, then my electronic shopping dollar will be redirected to an online merchant like Amazon or Office Depot from that point forward. If a "hello" or "can I help you find anything?" is just too much to ask for, then that is fine--I will simply find a new "go to" shopping destination for any technology product that I need.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 19, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I think it's ridiculous that Chase is making you guys have us choose between financing and rewards. But banks are evil, so there's that...

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 17, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Recommend best by contact the vfw and set up discounts for veterans and become partners with the vfw for veterans causes

Would you recommend this store to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 15, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 3 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I did not like the cashier trying to sell me additional stuff.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 12, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I have been extremely impressed with the new store layout and the improved product selection in certain areas of the store - specifically the PC peripherals. I am hoping to see Best Buy begin to carry a wider selection of PC hardware, and be priced closer to Newegg/Amazon. The selection of graphics cards has improved, but I think more effort should be made to get a wider variety of RAM and PSUs into the store. Motherboards and CPUs would be a great addition, as well. I understand the PC builder community is small, but I can guarantee that I am not the only Newegg/Amazon customer frustrated with online shopping for components and the RMA process for DOA equipment. I would love to have a local shop where I could browse the latest hardware.In addition, I would also like to say that I have noticed an improvement in the level of knowledge of employees within the store. Perhaps you have a new or improved training program, or have changed the hiring process, but I believe you are on the way to a great quality staff.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 11, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Sales personal did a wonderful job. Keep up the good work.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 10, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I was please---Best Buy was right off the interstate. I ran in to get a second plug for my computer. I was in and out in 10 minutes...on to my conference.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 9, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Best Buy lives up to its name. I can usually find the best products at the best prices. I find myself buying ASUS and Samsung products. I also got a HD TV at Best Buy. I plan on buying the next World of Warcraft expansion when it comes out.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 8, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Regarding laptops, there is apparently quite a difference in average life expectancy depending on the model purchased. I was interested in Macs and was told the hard drive of a Mac Book Pro had an average life expectancy of 5 years, while the solid disk inner workings of a Mac Book Air averaged around 13 years. (I asked.) This would be helpful information to post by all laptops that are sold.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 8, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

All my experiences with sales associates and customer service at this Best Buy store, over several years, have been very positive.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 8, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Interactive displays should not be at the end caps where people are trying to walk through and someone is testing out the product and doesn't move out of the way.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 8, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I paid for the TV and mount directly in the TV section and did not have to go thru the cashier. The whole experience went very smoothly.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 6, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

My scores for product availability and in stock scores were only lower because I was hoping to see more color choices for the product that I was looking for- I ended up choosing a color just because it was on clearance-maybe if there would have been a color I was excited about I would have spent the extra money.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 6, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I don't like the short expiration date of the rewards

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 6, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Just want to mention the fact that my dealing and purchase was made at the Iowa City, Iowa Best Buy store and not the Des Moines, Iowa Store. Thank you for a very good day and experience (purchase) on 2 July 2014. George L. Freeborn

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 6, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Needed more support at the checkout. 1 line open and had to wait.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 5, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I am an impulse shopper, and I seem to come less and less to BestBuy due to lack of sale items.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 5, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Survey is too long. I wish you had just asked me to make a comment like this.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted June 30, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Stood at the Apple kiosk for 10 minutes before getting anyone to help me. Meanhwile there were 3 blue shirts at the Samsung kiosk just talking. There was no one at the apple kiosk. I even helped another customer choose between Macbook Airs since no one was available to answer her question.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted June 30, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

We typically make our large electronic purchases (computers, televisions, etc) at Best Buy because of the Rewards program and the installment payment plan. We were very disappointed to learn after purchasing this set up of a TV/sound bar/bluray that to pay using the installment plan meant we could not receive the Rewards points.This essentially eliminates our loyalty to Best Buy for all future purchases- both big and small. We use the rewards earned from bigger purchases to buy smaller purchases from Best Buy. For example, we were going to use the Rewards from this television purchase to buy a hard drive from Best Buy. This means we have no incentive to buy the smaller hard drive because we don't get a discount, essentially we'll be buying these smaller (less than $100) purchases online. And for TVs - we have no need to be loyal to Best Buy to buy a 60" TV we are looking to buy in the next 60 months because we won't receive any Rewards for it.It probably means thousands of dollars we were planning to spend on electronics in the next year won't be spent at Best Buy, which is strange to say after 20+ years of shopping here.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted June 26, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I had belonged to the Best Buy rewards in the past...but some how fell out of your system. I tried to check my rewards on my last visit to Best Buy once I got home and it did not work. So, this time I started over an re joined....how ever, that means I lost all my previous points and my last purchase did not accumulate points. Hopefully now I will not have any problems with it since I started over.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted June 25, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Lately Best Buy just doesn't stock a wide variety of DVDs and Blurays like they did in the past.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted June 23, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Get more international movies instock in the stores.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted June 23, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

You need to add a does not apply to my visit option when taking survey. We went in looking for a specific item so a lot of the questions did not apply to our visit.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted June 22, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

It was a very good trip and I'll definitely be back.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted June 21, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

the new rewards doesn't cover products if you use the financing which it did before. Doesn't seem nearly as attractive a feature as previously.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted June 20, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 2 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I like Best Buy as a whole but this store in my area needs some improvements.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted June 19, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Sales associates were great! They tried very hard to help me find the product I wanted. I was disappointed that there was only 1 model of side-by-side black refrigerator available. This seems unreasonable.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted June 15, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

My rewards always seem to expire before I get to use them.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted June 14, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Store needs major updating--really has not changed since new--no Magnolia

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted June 14, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

The variety and availability of computer components has shrank drastically over the years. I understand the market may not justify carrying the individual components any longer, with most people buying motherboards, processors, etc online. However, I like to purchase locally when I can, and not having a wider selection of individual components available for either replacement parts or upgrades to my existing system is disheartening. Also a suggestion: if you sell USB3 portable drives, try to carry the universal replacement cables for those drives in your stores, it might just save a customers year. Regarding the Coralville store itself: Excellent service, friendly and helpful staff, with good knowledge of the products available.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted June 13, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 2 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

When an associate asks if your ready to get your computer it would be nice if they didn't ditch you for another customer on the way to the item.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted June 13, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Many of your employees are not quite sure about shopkick's. I use that also and it would be nice if they were well-versed on that.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted June 9, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

need a larger DVD selection, should mach Blue ray selection, I do not buy blue rays.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted June 9, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I have an older Sony camera and was looking for a second memory stick for it, Best Buy does not carry this memory stick, I also bought a Sony bloggie camera from Best Buy and a JVC camcorder, I am NOT happy with the Sony bloggie camera.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted June 9, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

larger DVD selection that compares to the Blue Ray selection.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted June 8, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I was sorry to have the rewards points no longer available if 18 months no interest was applied.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted June 6, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

It took a really long time to get the e-mail confirmation for the student discount/coupon making the check out process last like 30-45 mins

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted June 6, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Your "My Best Buy" Program continues to be a draw for purchasing items from Best Buy.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted June 5, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Hope to see best buy keep the music section and keep new cd's in stock and more variety in rock.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted June 1, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I wish there was a way to earn reward zone points when you do special financing also.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted June 1, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I understand why it was changed but we appreciated our Elite program more when we got both same as cash financing and reward points.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted May 31, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

The rewards have to be used in a short time frame which does not allow for out of towners to have time to use them in store. We live 120 miles from the closest Best Buy.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted May 31, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I wish the deductible was lower on your geek squad plans for mobile phones.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted May 28, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

It is a bit hard to find the appropriate aisle for various accessories. It would be nice if there were signs on the endcaps or overhead that directed one to routers, versus hard drives, versus optical drives, versus media, etc.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted May 28, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Don't close the store. I do not know where I would go if you did. I have been buying from Best Buy since my sons were little and wanting gaming systems. I wish I would have taken my own advice and purchased stock in the place years ago.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted May 28, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

The additional warrantee is too expensive for the Surface2.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted May 27, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

When I arrived at the camera department there were no salespeople to help me. I started to go elsewhere in the store, and a salesperson spotted me and asked if I needed help. He then did an excellent job helping me find the camera I wanted, which involved checking inventory on the computer and then finding and bringing me the product from the storeroom in the back.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted May 24, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Just signed up for (my bestbuy). Had a little trouble but customer service is working on it. We are a new member so we haven't even used it yet.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted May 23, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I have always enjoyed The store in Iowa city. I never leave disappointed. Your staff is always great to deal with and I cant imagine shopping anywhere else for high end electronics.David H.Fairfield , Iowa

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted May 21, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

You could use a more user-friendly merchandising in your gaming area. It was difficult to locate game titles and was not inviting.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted May 21, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

In the gaming area, the games need to be arranged in a way that makes it easier to locate a particular title, and the specific genre (like Wii) needs to have a more well organized and inviting appearance.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted May 20, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Cashier and Manager were not aware of the military discount available for service members, but were more than glad to honor it. Overall a good experience at this store.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted May 15, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Best Buy used to have a great selection of CD's and i understand the changing of the times has gone to downloads, but it is very sad that WalMart has a better selections of music cd's. I prefer to buy at best buy because of the rewards.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted May 15, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 3 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

The employee we met inside the store in Coralville was very friendly and pointed us to exactly what we were looking for. The lady at checkout, however, did not greet me. She was on a personal call (trying to make a bus reservation for an upcoming trip) and ran my transaction through the computer while talking on the phone. It was very unprofessional and I would have expected her to wait until her break or being off duty to make personal calls of this nature!

Would you recommend this store to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted May 14, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

i think it kind of sucks that with a store your size i have to wait to get my fridge 3 weeks after i bought it. i thought it would only be like a week.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted May 12, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 2 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Train checkout people to be more apologetic when a problem is found and offer to do something, price reduction, reward points extra, anything to make up for the frustration, at least act like they care.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted May 12, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 3 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Wish there was more selection of new CD's. I'd prefer to see more newer CD's that have come out recently. Your selection is poor.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted May 11, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

The Coralville Best Buy is where we have always bought our audio,video and computer items for years. They have always done a fantastic job!

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted May 7, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I sat at a space previously occupied by another customer. There was greasy residue on the table. I would recommend that the sales staff wipe the surfaces after a sales transaction when it is visible.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted May 7, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

The lady at the check out did not want to be there. She told me she didn't. I work in retail it's not hard to be friendly and push though the day for every customer.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted May 6, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 3 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Interactive demo set-up for all new game releases on each system. Give people a chance to know what they are buying, i.e. if they will enjoy the game.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted May 6, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 2 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I have a real issue with this store. Have been in this store numerous times and the sales associates will walk by you and not ask if you need assistance. On one visit I counted 4 sales associates walked by me and did not ask me if I need help. I have a real problem with this.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted May 6, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I've been shopping with Best Buy for many years now and I'm generally very satisfied with my experiences there. I will continue to support Best Buy

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted May 6, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

The new product display areas is very nice and, leaves the store looking more friendly and less like a warehouse. However new lighting and lighter decor would help it look less dingy and seem less dirty. Like how the sales rep who helped us was also able to check us out, made us feel like we were at a specality store and not just a department/ electrionic store. Over all we had a great expierence.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted May 3, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 3 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Would highly reccomend you reviewing your policy on closing peoples best buy accts especially when they purchase sizeable purchases/ products and without a persons knowledge or permission! How about asking or emailing or sending something in the mail to rec omens using their acct etc. This really makes me not want to purchase from you and makes me feel like I am not an important or appreciated customer!! Really need to listen to this!!

Would you recommend this store to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted April 30, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I have always had good results when shopping at Best Buy.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted April 30, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I have been disappointed that I cannot purchase Dell printer ink in the store. Lately, I can't even purchase it on line.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted April 30, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I am having trouble retreiving a rewards certificate. All of a sudden my e-mail address is not being recognized, even though I was sent the e-mail to retreive the certificate on it.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted April 29, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 2 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Overall, I had a good shopping experience at Best Buy. I did have the waiting period that I mentioned earlier but I understand that these things sometimes happen. I understand this because I have worked in retail.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted April 29, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

When I took my computer to the geek squad (I purchased the protection when buying the tablet) I had to wait longer than my appt. time. There was only one geek behind the counter. More support staff is needed and an appt should be longer than 15 min.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted April 29, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I like the reward program. Its a good way to save money!

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted April 28, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

On this particular day, I also had scheduled an appointment with a Geek to evaluate a misfunctioning laptop computer. Although he was courteous and provided what I considered an honest assessment of the cost of repairing the computer (and I decided against it), I think my experience would have been more positive if he had called a computer sales person to meet me at the desk and take me to the store computer area. The computer area is large and spread out, and I found it difficult to find a comparable laptop to consider a purchase of a similar product. Your store missed a potential sale because of this inattention. If this is a store policy, I would not criticize the Geek, but would suggest that Best Buy consider what I have suggested and make a change in this respect.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

Poor Customer Service 

Posted April 28, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 1 of 5
By Pr155y from Coralville, IA

Store Atmosphere: 1

Employee Knowledge: 1

Price/Value 3

Checkout Process: 1

I am a premium silver member. Went to the store Sat 4/26 around 3:15pm waited for ten minutes employees walked and was not acknowledged. The guy "K" made twice eye contact and ignored me. After I asked other people from Samsung help and he can't help me so he sent "K" to help. He didn't have nice to say at all. Got my Ipad but will not return again to this store. Best Buy no need my business . I will going other places. This store lack of customer services. Young college kids got hired just for talking around their coworker better than helping customer. I will not recommend this store.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted April 16, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 3 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

More employee coverage. I went in there knowing what I wanted to purchase and waited for a sales person for 10-15 minutes before they arrived.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted April 16, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 2 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Employees should focus on helping customers. Many areas and items in the store for anyone to find what you are looking for without some help from an employee of the store.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted April 11, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

It seems as though Best Buy has become a store that sells a much wider variety of goods than traditionally carried in the past. Not that this is a bad thing, but the stores, at least to me, seems to have lost its direction in selling primarily electronic goods. The stores appear to be more of a general merchandise store than an electronics store. Some of the displays look a bit worn and, in my opinion, do not look attractive.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted April 11, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

To have the light lit at the checkout would be helpful.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted April 10, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I had a good experience and think that the store is great except for the geek squad!

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted April 10, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

The only real issue I have ever had is with the Geek Squad service department. I was told one thing on the phone, and when I get to the store.. I am told a completely different thing whish cost me about $150. I just feel that if I am told something originally, that should be what I receive. Other than that, I am quite satisfied.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted April 9, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

As part of the loyalty program, you should get special offers. Or be able to bank your points towards a larger purchase. Without an expiration time for the points.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted April 8, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

My visit was a very positive one. I really appreciate the helpfulness of the employees.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

Service 

Posted April 7, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 1 of 5
By Aaron349 from Coralville, Iowa

Store Atmosphere: 5

Employee Knowledge: 2

Price/Value 2

Checkout Process: 1

On two occasions recently I have visited the store for service on a PC I purchased from Best Buy in Minnesota. In the Geek Squad area I waited in line for 10 minutes and was never acknowledged. On the first trip I learned that all the people in line behind me had appointments. There were no signs about setting appointments or any indication of a place or person to schedule such an appointment. I waited and left my PC. Now needing to schedule another appointment it took 24 minutes to get one scheduled when I called in. Both contacts have been required because of things that were not done as promised. The level and quality of service makes me sad for the company, it's employees and customers.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted April 6, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I am not a frequent shopper for electronics and find the folks at Best Buy helpful and knowledgable. The non-commission status of the salespeople gives me a higher level of comfort with their recommendations, believing that I am being pointed to the right product choices based on my expressed needs, not a commission potential.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted April 3, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

The music selection, which is what I use it for the most, used to have the largest and best Rock/metal collection. Now i can barely find anything that i want including artists that are number 1 on the charts which i find disappointing. I feel that at some point i would have to take my business elsewhere to find the products that I desire.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted April 3, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

booming subwoofers from stereo systems should not adversely impact the computer section.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted April 2, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I think the buyer's program is a joke. It does not record half of my purchases, or if it does, it really shortchanges me on all the money spent. I have no idea what benefit it is supposed to provide.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted April 2, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

My only dissatisfaction was that the price was not competitive with other prices. I paid about $40 more than I would have if I bought from another major retailer. I did not have information about price matching before my purchase.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted March 30, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Service was good but a little rushed. Many employees on the floor able to answer your question, however, they quickly needed to assist another customer. Overall service was friendly and enthusiastic. Thank you!

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted March 30, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Should have been more cashiers for a Saturday. There were only 2 and the wait was rather long. Other than that, love Best Buy!

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted March 29, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1554 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

As I stated in the previous question/answer many of the cameras either didn't have power or didn't work for some reason so any hands on experience with a camera was very difficult to impossible.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review


Products, pricing, services and promotions vary by store. Store pickup is the only option for in-store clearance and open box. Markdowns are taken from regular prices. Regular Price listed for in-store clearance reflects the current BestBuy.com regular price. Regular Price listed for open box reflects current non-sale store price for the item in new condition. In-store clearance and open-box inventory is limited, and rainchecks are not available.