Best Buy - Iowa City

1431 Coral Ridge Avenue
Coralville, IA 52241
Phone: 319-625-2900
Email: tanya.beach@bestbuy.com

GEO: 41.692726, -91.602524

Map & Directions

See full store details

Weekly Ad


Store Hours

Today

  • SatDec. 20
    8:00 am11:00 pm
  • SunDec. 21
    7:00 am11:00 pm
  • MonDec. 22
    7:00 am12:00 am
  • TueDec. 23
    7:00 am12:00 am
  • WedDec. 24
    7:00 am6:00 pm
  • ThuDec. 25
    Closed
  • FriDec. 26
    9:00 am11:00 pm

Customer Feedback & Reviews for Best Buy - Iowa City

Average Customer Rating

4.1558 star rating 4.2 of 5

Customer Reviews: 520

88.3% of customers would recommend this store to a friend (459 of 520)

Write a Store Review

 

Posted December 18, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 3 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I was very frustrated by the inability to find someone to help me. I stopped in to purchase something quickly, but couldn't find it, nor anyone to ask. all associates were occupied with customers. I waited about 10 minutes, then luckily saw what I came in for and purchased it. The cashier was wonderful!

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted December 15, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I've been a Best Buy customer for several years and plan to make additional purchases in years to come. Thank you !!

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted December 15, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 3 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I wish you carried more canon lenses, such as the popular 100mm macro

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted December 13, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 3 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I wish they would have put it in the case to show me. We would have discovered then it didn't fit. I have an hours drive to exchange it during a busy holiday schedule before Christmas because this is a Christmas gift.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted December 12, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 3 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I continue to be disappointed in my new Dell computer, but the salesperson said Windows 10 would be out next year and it will solve a lot of my issues with Windows 8 which is not a good operating system, but like i told him, he can not pick and choose what the store stocks and sells, and he also has to make the best of the products on the shelf.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted December 9, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

BEST BUY HAS THE BEST PRICES AROUND AND IS THE ONLY STORE THAT CARRIES THIS CERTAIN TYPE OF BACKUP FOR OUR SYSTEM

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted December 8, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I will be shopping again at Best Buy before Christmas!

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted December 7, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 2 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I have been bought several items in the past before but this is probably the worst service I have received. Might go to target or amazon

Would you recommend this store to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted December 7, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Overall any experience I've had even if simply browsing at products at Best Buy there is always a very knowledgeable associate there to help, and educate me on the surrounding products.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted December 6, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 3 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

The first time I went, I couldn't find someone to help me in that department. I went back a second time because I had chosen the wrong item. This time there were 2 employees in the department. but I had to wait about 15 minutes until one was free to help me. During the holiday season I would expect there to be more help available. The employee who helped me however was very good.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted December 6, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 2 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

90% of the time my service at this location is above the mark, today unfortunately, was not one of those days. The video gaming area was very poorly stocked and the game I was looking for, while being released just today, wasn't even out of the backroom yet. If it wasn't for the employee at the front door asking if I needed help a sale would have been lost. I can only ask so many times for help without receiving it before I give up and go to the next store.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted December 6, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Sales staff need more product knowledge. Geek squad members give more info and are better salesmen

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted December 5, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

This was an excellent experience and I have had several buying experiences at this Best Buy that went well over the last few years

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted December 3, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 3 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Please work to improve car audio section. Previously the stock and choices were great, and help wasn't too hard to find. Now help is scarce, and product selection is dismal. With all the choices in car audio on the market, this section should be brimming with selection, instead there are a half dozen choices of each component (speakers, tweeters, subs, head units, etc.) and a lot of barren open space. Also while computer selection is good, prices are significantly higher than the competition. Please at least consider my thoughts, and maybe be so kind as to give me a $5000 shopping spree as advertised! Thanks!

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted December 3, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I also visited the store in Milan Il and was not impressed with the sales person.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted December 1, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I would suggest that the one part to my experience that I always find dissatisfactory is that the experience in the mobile department is that the customer is received in a very public area being asked personal information to verify account etc. Discussions on ones billing information should be held private. This manner I find at every best buy mobile department and is not a reflection of the staff but rather the open and public environment.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted December 1, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I don't like it that rewards can expire and are available after 2 to 3 weeks when you can forget about them. I know there is an email, but that can easily be overlooked or forgotten if not used right away.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted November 30, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

For being Black Friday weekend, the store was clean and employees were respectful, didn't see that in alot of places that day!!

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted November 30, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 3 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Best Buy is a good store but we got the wrong laptop and sales person forgot to activate anti virus software so we had to stand in line for customer service to get that done. Then they could not take off the sales tax on the software as it was suppose to be free. They ended up having to get a manager to do it all the time we are waiting.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted November 29, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 3 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

It was pre Black Friday, the wait in the check out line was long but well managed. The checker was very pleasant and helpful. Overall with all the craziness of back Friday. Had a good shopping experience.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted November 29, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

The service we received was great. We went into the store 15 minutes before closing and the sales associate that helped us did not seem concerned about closing time. He did not rush us into making a purchase or getting out of the store. He answered all my questions and was extremely helpful.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted November 25, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 1 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

The rebates are a poor idea. Discount the item at time of purchase, and don't require the customer to go online in order to print off a coupon. The customer wastes time doing this. I've purchase $1,000s of equipment over the years from Best Buy, and cannot recall one time that a coupon has ever worked for me.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted November 24, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

It would be nice if Elite Plus Members got discounts on Tech support. Although I am happy to pay for the service and will continue to do so as long as we have devices, a discount would be a great way to keep us as Elite Plus!

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted November 23, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I had a great experience this time, often it is very difficult to get anyone to help. Also, I don't really understand how the reward program works so I don't get to take advantage of its benefits.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted November 23, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

When first approached by a different sales rep, I was greeted with a friendly "Hi. How are you? Can I help you find anything?" Which was great. However, when I replied, "Not at the moment, I'm just getting started." The sales person then went right into a cable promotion pitch. One thing that may help in-store promotions in my case would be to give me time to browse a bit, then make a follow-up in 5-6 minutes. Then make the cable pitch after listening to my initial purpose for visiting.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted November 16, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Oscar was our sales representative. He gave us a comprehensive overview of the computers we selected, seemed very knowledgeable and treated us with respect.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted November 12, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I know it's minor, but when you enter the store and walk to where you are going, almost every Best Buy has too many people ask if you need help. It's overkill. I think it would be just as significant if they smiled, made eye contact and said "Good afternoon, sir." Some people don't want or need help, and being asked a dozen times in two minutes gets on my nerves.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted November 11, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

We had wanted to purchase this product from the Ames Best Buy store but they didn't have it in stock. They did lookup which store had it in stock for us but it would have been nicer if they had between store product swapping for the customers like other large stores chains.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted November 8, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Rewards Certificates should not expire or expire 3 months after they are awarded. They seem to expire too quickly.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted November 8, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Love the preorder interactive display that lets me print a ticket for preorders

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted October 30, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I recently twisted my ankle and was surprised when Best Buy offered a a wheel chair for us upon entering. It was somewhat hard to navigate through the aisles in a wheelchair especially if there was a clearance bin or display in the center.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted October 30, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I don't like that they changed it so you have to choose between rewards or financing.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted October 17, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I was unable to find the product I was looking for, so settled on a different product. There were not a lot of options available.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted October 17, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Logging into credit card account is convoluted and difficult at best. More transparency and more email communication, specifically, about credit card statements and due dates of payments would go a long way.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted October 17, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Best Buy in Coralville is my favorite store in the area. Sales/management employees are always helpful and friendly. More importantly, I never experience a high pressure sales approach.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

Terrible costumer service 

Posted October 16, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 1 of 5
By imack from Coralville, Iowa

Store Atmosphere: 4

Employee Knowledge: 1

Price/Value 3

Checkout Process: 1

Went to the store with the mindset that if someone gave me an average sales pitch I was going to buy the item I went there for, even if I could find it online for cheaper. I stood playing with the device for maybe 10 minutes while an employee was helping another costumer across from me. Listening to the employee I could quickly tell that they had very little background knowledge of the devices in their section, but I didn't really care, I already knew why I wanted to buy the item. After the employee finished with the first costumer, we made eye contact however they walked past me. 20 minutes later with out being talked to once by a salesperson, I walked out of the store without the device I wanted and extremely frustrated as shown in this review.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted October 14, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

My products were available on line and needed to be ordered on line. The sales associate did not have quick internet access available in the department nor did he have the tools to zoom in on the product features I was most interested in viewing. We had to leave the appliance department and go to the computer department to view the appliance details. He should have access to tools to best serve customers. I visited the store on a weekday evening--had it been a busy weekend crowd, I doubt my visit would have been as smooth.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted October 11, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Status purchase levels have increased significantly and zero points provided now when purchasing on time. Also once status achieved, appears that additional purchases, e.g. > $3,500 do not start adding to following year purchase achievement.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted October 7, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Employees were friendly and knowledgeable made picking out what was right for me easy and fun

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted October 7, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Cashier did not give me the option to finance my purchase which was disappointing.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted September 29, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Was a good overall experience, nothing to really critique or add.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted September 10, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Wanted special edition of a game but it was not in stock (Destiny) so I bought the regular game.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted September 8, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Best buy has been a good choice to buy things and the geek squad is great!

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted September 5, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Never get points for buys item even the computer I bought a year ago

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted September 3, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

The rewards program doesn't always apply my points

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted September 2, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

The Coralridge Mall location is a great location - nice store

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted August 30, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

We recieved an email that stated our order had been cancelled. This was corrected well by the location. Unfortunatley, before stopping back at the store we called the customer help line provided by the e-mail. They were unorganized and pefromed poorly. They did not mention that the item order had already been placed again by the store since the order cancellation was a store error, despite the fact that I specifically requested that they check on this. We then went through all of the steps to order them again. At the begining of the conversation with both the service representative and the sales representative, I stated that I wanted to use my BestBuy credit card that I had applied for the night before. They took me through all of the steps anyway, and then informed me that they were not able to help me. The communication between the departments of the call line needs to be improved. Despite this, I was very impressed with the individuals at the store in coralville, and will be returning to them. I will be avoiding the service call line.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted August 21, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

My only complaint may not even be Best Buy's issue but the parking lot has a ton of trash in it all the time. Maybe Best Buy needs to contact the correct cleaning dept with the Coral Ridge Mall to make it better. Otherwise a good experience.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted August 20, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

for the rewards program, the cashier should check online to see if there are points to use and "ask" the customer if they want to use them. After all everything else about the account is checked. Make it a totally painless experience and people will love it. They will remember "Best Buy" when it comes time to shop. Right now it is still too much of a hassle. I know it can be done because I had a cashier do it once.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted August 19, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 3 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Apparently the sales staff does NOT work on commission, we had a hard time finding someone to help us. There was one CD player that was on sale and the sales associate could not answer any questions, we had to go online to find the answer as to the features of the player. nothing noted on the box. The general attitude by the sales staff is not one of helping the customer, they just stand around talking amongst themselves.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted August 18, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 3 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

The arrangement of the store is very different then in previous years. I felt the old set up was easier to get around.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted August 18, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Price match all stores so you don't lose further business.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted August 18, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 3 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Please continue to provide a good level of customer service, but please advise associates not to "stalk" customers through the department they are working in.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted August 14, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I tried to make my purchase online but the site was messed up for 3 days. I used the chat to try to get help but was not happy with my help. The associate basically told me it was my computer not the site. I drove a hour to the closest store where they told me that had a lot of people coming in because the website wasn't working. Just thought you should know your associates online basically pass problems off as your customers. Computer even though the site said you were experiencing technical difficulties. The store staff was very considerate to my frustrations of the website, great customer service in store!

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted August 14, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 3 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Have employees walk around the store more. I found them clustered when I was trying to find an employee.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted August 13, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Please don't send feedback emails. My husband and I share email and he now knows I purchased a computer for his birthday.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted August 12, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I am upset with your geek squad. Last year I spent $135. To send my lap top in to be fixed. It came back with unable to be fixed but wouldn't tell me what was wrong with it, so I bought a new one from best buy. Well, later a computer person looked at it and fixed it for $125. Then this spring my neighbor brought her 8 month old lap top in and they told her it couldn't be fixed. She took it to my computer person and he fixed it for $65. Doesn't give your geek squad a very good reputation. And I am still using the laptop that they said couldn't be fixed.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted August 11, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I still love Best Buy and initially had great help on purchasing the computer. The response when I wanted to buy Microsoft Office Professional was disappointing. I was also prepared to buy Adobe Acobat and an invoicing program, but as no one came back to help me I purchased tose things from Amazon. The price of the software would have far exceeded the price of the computer and wireless mouse I purchased. I am sorry not to have been able to give Best Buy the sale. I prefer to shop in Best Buy stores rather than online.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted August 11, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

The Samsung rep was immensely helpful and helped me to decide on the Galaxy Tab 4 for my son. The department manager did a price match for me and got another associate to help me apply for the Best Buy card. Very nice and helpful. The very first person I spoke with didn't have much knowledge of tablets though. Overall very satisfied. I used to avoid Best Buy like the plague, but have changed my opinion in the past couple of months.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted August 9, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I've bought from Best Buy in Wisconsin also and have always been pleased with the products and service.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted August 9, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I've bought from Best Buy in Wisconsin, Illinois and Iowa. I am very pleased with your store. And I am happy to know that you match prices. Thank you.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted August 8, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I used a new Best Buy credit card to purchase my new laptop. I was told it would post right away and be ready for me to pay it off before I left the store. It is 5 days later and the purchase has still not posted, neither to the store nor my Best Buy credit card account. I was given the number to the bank associated with the credit card but have yet been unable to talk to anyone about this purchase. I do not think this is inherently Best Buy's problem, however, I am concerned about the potential effect on my credit if this is not posted in a timely fashion so I can pay it off responsibly.More floating employees would be helpful. I did get my questions asked about a cable box to get basic TV channels in my home, but I did have to track down an associate to have my question answered.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted August 7, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

It would be nice to see a Best Buy in Burlington,Ia.We have to drive an hour and a half to Coarlridge,Ia or an hour and a half to Quincy,Il to a store. Burlington draws from a lot of small towns in both Iowa and Illinois.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted August 7, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

For God's sake, give that poor woman some help on the phone that answers incoming calls. I was on hold for 45 minutes and told "there were 3 callers ahead of me." She was extremely nice when speaking with her but she needs help if it takes 45 minutes to get through 3 calls.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted August 3, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

We usually shop the Waterloo, Iowa Best Buy but was school shopping in Iowa City area so stopped in this Best Buy to purchase my nephew a new IPhone protector. Store was very nice and well laid out and everywhere we went in store, someone asked if we needed assistance. But Waterloo store is our go to store. Every time we purchase something, we have had incredible help & guidance and good luck with our purchases.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted August 3, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I know the associates are there to assist; they don't have to ask (beseige) a customer at every aisle to let him know he/she's available. One time about three years ago at the same store, I was shopping for a desktop computer and stood in the aisle looking at models and almost had to hogtie a sales clerk to assist me despite my obvious lingering at the spot of interest. I don't think the ones available were engaged elsewise.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 31, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I do like that they can look up my My Best Buy rewards online while I'm checking out, and apply the reward amount. My pet peeve about EVERY OTHER rewards program is that I have to remember to print out and bring along a reward coupon or voucher. I REALLY appreciate that this is not the case at Best Buy!!

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 30, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 1 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I've bought every computer, laptop & accessories at Best Buy over the past 17 years. With the experience I had last night, I probably will never buy another computer at BB again and am upset enough that I'm considering returning my laptop and ordering it from another vendor online. The staff was rude and what was even worse was that the manager who came over to help because the staff was "too busy" was the rudest person of everyone that helped me. I was ignored for the first 15 minutes and then every question I asked seem to annoy the manager that was helping me. I feel that when someone is spending $2000 on a product (though it shouldn't matter how much or how little) they should receive pretty great service. We've recently purchased an entire home theater and sound system & appliances from Best Buy and spent over $22,000. I've also bought my past 3 laptops & home desktop at Best Buy and have always had a great experience. Last night's experience really makes me never want to return again.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 29, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Cashier was kind knowledgeable, technology created a 3 minute hiccup.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 28, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I have not used the reward program much. We intend on going back for appliances in the near future.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 25, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Thanks for having great associates that go out of the war to ensure customer satisfaction. Your team members make the difference. Greatly appreciated their assistance.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 24, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 2 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

The Webroot is a disc, but most laptops don't have CD players in them anymore. There was a code on the back under a sticker to use, but when you pull the sticker off the number comes off also. We had to return to the store to get the number. Rather inconvenient.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 24, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

There wasn't much of a variety of PlayStation Vita games or accessories. There were a few Nintendo 3DS games I wanted that were not in stock. Other than that, I had a nice shopping experience.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 23, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Continue what you are doing! Great customer service, a lot to choose from. It's nice to be able to see and hear the product, but I wish your prices were a little lower. The sound bar we purchased was on sale.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 22, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Best Buy is my place to go for electronics, gaming, music, computers, tv's, etc.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

Employees at this location "selectively" helpful 

Posted July 21, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 1 of 5
By Syracuse from Iowa City, IA

Store Atmosphere: 2

Employee Knowledge: 1

Price/Value 2

Checkout Process: 3

In general, I like Best Buy. I have spent a great deal of money at Best Buy over the years--iPhones (2), iPads (4), Macbook Air, Macbook Pro, Kindle, Kindle Fire, car stereos (2), and countless smaller items like DVDs, cases, and office supplies.Having said that, I am now fed-up with the highly selective friendliness the employees at this Iowa City/Coralville location. On 5 separate occasions, I have browsed the electronics and computer area at length (+15 minutes) and have not had one single employee come up to me and ask if I was finding everything all right, if they could be of assistance, etc. At first I thought that perhaps this was some type of new, hands-off store policy (I'm well aware that some folks are annoyed for the exact opposite reason of what I'm writing about here: the overly friendly employee who won't leave you alone). But recently I've noticed that the very same employees who ignore me as though I have the plague are busy asking other customers if they need any help with anything!To me, this smacks of discrimination. When I shop at Best Buy, I usually come alone and am dressed casually--I was not previously aware that I somehow needed to project a certain image in order to be considered worthy of the Best Buy employees' valuable time. However, this complete lack of even the most basic level of customer attentiveness has happened too many times now to be coincedental, and I most definitely do not appreciate it. Whether it is because of my attire or my perceived likelihood of making a purchase (or worse, my gender or my race), I find this selective customer service both offensive and unacceptable. If you are somehow incacpable of waiting on all the customers who walk through your doors on an equal basis, then my advice is to have that same policy of noninvolvement for all.As it stands right now, I am less likely to shop at Best Buy because of these experiences. I will try this store one more time in the next couple months to see if these comments are taken seriously, and if they are not, then my electronic shopping dollar will be redirected to an online merchant like Amazon or Office Depot from that point forward. If a "hello" or "can I help you find anything?" is just too much to ask for, then that is fine--I will simply find a new "go to" shopping destination for any technology product that I need.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 19, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I think it's ridiculous that Chase is making you guys have us choose between financing and rewards. But banks are evil, so there's that...

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 17, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Recommend best by contact the vfw and set up discounts for veterans and become partners with the vfw for veterans causes

Would you recommend this store to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 15, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 3 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I did not like the cashier trying to sell me additional stuff.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 12, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I have been extremely impressed with the new store layout and the improved product selection in certain areas of the store - specifically the PC peripherals. I am hoping to see Best Buy begin to carry a wider selection of PC hardware, and be priced closer to Newegg/Amazon. The selection of graphics cards has improved, but I think more effort should be made to get a wider variety of RAM and PSUs into the store. Motherboards and CPUs would be a great addition, as well. I understand the PC builder community is small, but I can guarantee that I am not the only Newegg/Amazon customer frustrated with online shopping for components and the RMA process for DOA equipment. I would love to have a local shop where I could browse the latest hardware.In addition, I would also like to say that I have noticed an improvement in the level of knowledge of employees within the store. Perhaps you have a new or improved training program, or have changed the hiring process, but I believe you are on the way to a great quality staff.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 11, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Sales personal did a wonderful job. Keep up the good work.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 10, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I was please---Best Buy was right off the interstate. I ran in to get a second plug for my computer. I was in and out in 10 minutes...on to my conference.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 9, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Best Buy lives up to its name. I can usually find the best products at the best prices. I find myself buying ASUS and Samsung products. I also got a HD TV at Best Buy. I plan on buying the next World of Warcraft expansion when it comes out.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 8, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Regarding laptops, there is apparently quite a difference in average life expectancy depending on the model purchased. I was interested in Macs and was told the hard drive of a Mac Book Pro had an average life expectancy of 5 years, while the solid disk inner workings of a Mac Book Air averaged around 13 years. (I asked.) This would be helpful information to post by all laptops that are sold.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 8, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

All my experiences with sales associates and customer service at this Best Buy store, over several years, have been very positive.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 8, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Interactive displays should not be at the end caps where people are trying to walk through and someone is testing out the product and doesn't move out of the way.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 8, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I paid for the TV and mount directly in the TV section and did not have to go thru the cashier. The whole experience went very smoothly.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 6, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

My scores for product availability and in stock scores were only lower because I was hoping to see more color choices for the product that I was looking for- I ended up choosing a color just because it was on clearance-maybe if there would have been a color I was excited about I would have spent the extra money.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 6, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I don't like the short expiration date of the rewards

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 6, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Just want to mention the fact that my dealing and purchase was made at the Iowa City, Iowa Best Buy store and not the Des Moines, Iowa Store. Thank you for a very good day and experience (purchase) on 2 July 2014. George L. Freeborn

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 6, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Needed more support at the checkout. 1 line open and had to wait.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 5, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I am an impulse shopper, and I seem to come less and less to BestBuy due to lack of sale items.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted July 5, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Survey is too long. I wish you had just asked me to make a comment like this.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted June 30, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Stood at the Apple kiosk for 10 minutes before getting anyone to help me. Meanhwile there were 3 blue shirts at the Samsung kiosk just talking. There was no one at the apple kiosk. I even helped another customer choose between Macbook Airs since no one was available to answer her question.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted June 30, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

We typically make our large electronic purchases (computers, televisions, etc) at Best Buy because of the Rewards program and the installment payment plan. We were very disappointed to learn after purchasing this set up of a TV/sound bar/bluray that to pay using the installment plan meant we could not receive the Rewards points.This essentially eliminates our loyalty to Best Buy for all future purchases- both big and small. We use the rewards earned from bigger purchases to buy smaller purchases from Best Buy. For example, we were going to use the Rewards from this television purchase to buy a hard drive from Best Buy. This means we have no incentive to buy the smaller hard drive because we don't get a discount, essentially we'll be buying these smaller (less than $100) purchases online. And for TVs - we have no need to be loyal to Best Buy to buy a 60" TV we are looking to buy in the next 60 months because we won't receive any Rewards for it.It probably means thousands of dollars we were planning to spend on electronics in the next year won't be spent at Best Buy, which is strange to say after 20+ years of shopping here.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted June 26, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

I had belonged to the Best Buy rewards in the past...but some how fell out of your system. I tried to check my rewards on my last visit to Best Buy once I got home and it did not work. So, this time I started over an re joined....how ever, that means I lost all my previous points and my last purchase did not accumulate points. Hopefully now I will not have any problems with it since I started over.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted June 25, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Lately Best Buy just doesn't stock a wide variety of DVDs and Blurays like they did in the past.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted June 23, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 4 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

Get more international movies instock in the stores.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted June 23, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

You need to add a does not apply to my visit option when taking survey. We went in looking for a specific item so a lot of the questions did not apply to our visit.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

 

Posted June 22, 2014

Customer Rating 4.1558 star rating 5 of 5
Best Buy Store Customer
By BestBuyStoreCustomer

It was a very good trip and I'll definitely be back.

Would you recommend this store to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review


Products, pricing, services and promotions vary by store. Store pickup is the only option for in-store clearance and open box. Markdowns are taken from regular prices. Regular Price listed for in-store clearance reflects the current BestBuy.com regular price. Regular Price listed for open box reflects current non-sale store price for the item in new condition. In-store clearance and open-box inventory is limited, and rainchecks are not available.